A promise is a promise…

Copyright 2014 Folk Art..Buttermilk Hill…Janet Skibo…DO NOT PIN!

 

Hi everyone! See..I said I would be back!!  I hope everyone is dealing well with the snow (we got zip, zero, nada)  and the cold (we are frigid here).  Tuesday it is supposed to get down to –10….so glad no one here absolutely HAS to go anywhere in the winter.  We kinda hibernate through the winter…we are soooo worn out after a long season of shows, it is nice to just stay home .  But….we still have to work…I have been marking boxes full of scrap left from a year of cutting for Al to cut into even smaller objects..plus, a vendor friend gave us boxes of scrap from their grandson’s karate meets. . ..like gold to us!!  It seems no matter how many hundreds of these small things we finish, we still don’t have enough for all our shows. Smile

 

Today I finished 13 big pieces of Folk art. It still is taking me a full day longer to finish a good batch of work and I need to get into high gear here.  I’m hoping to be in Christmas mode within the next month.  This year I am determined to count how many pieces we complete in a year…just curious.  Right now I am up to 43 pieces…but these are some of the more tedious pieces…the numbers will climb fast when I start with the signs.

100_2483

100_2482

100_2481

100_2480

I am just stacking finished work now…it is way too cold for either of us to spend hours outside in the workshop sanding and staining for hours. They can wait…there is some slightly warmer weather on the horizon and by then I will have a huge stack to do.  I still have quite a bit of wood waiting for painting.  The last warmer weather, Al worked so hard to stockpile wood for me…including 4  pieces 48 inches long for my biggest folk art as well as 4 very tall vertical pieces.  I also have to start on a lot of vintage pieces  like kitchen scales and more ice skates.  So much to do and so little time!  I am also hoping to make something for myself…maybe a new prim bunny doll.

So now that these pieces are done, I’m off to prep more wood…I’m feeling like painting some Fall maybe….  stay warm out there…and please, bring those pups and kitties in…it is way too cold for them too!…….Jan

6 comments on “A promise is a promise…

  1. Cindy says:

    We had a little bit of snow here…and it is -1 here right now. I’m so over winter and can’t wait for Spring to get here. I need to get busy and work on stuff for shows, so it isn’t so crazy later in the year. Also need to get a new tent ordered, since my old one bit the dust.
    Love your work!!
    hugs,
    Cindy

  2. Trace says:

    We are still snow covered more is on the way.
    I love your wooden art.
    Girl you are talented.
    Do you sleep?
    Stay warm and woolie 🙂
    HUGS

  3. Christine says:

    Hi Jan! Brrr! You are getting a cold snap for sure so stay indoors and cozy up!
    I truly love your signs – if only I could get to one of your shows….
    I’m also amazed how much you do paint in a year. You and Al are a finely tuned machine!! LOL!
    Blessings
    Christine

  4. Hi Jan, stay safe and stay warm.I love your paintings, they are prim perfect. When you stopped by my blog you asked if my arrangement in my header picture was made by Sheila, yes it was, I think i have 4 of her arrangements and love them all. Hugs, Lecia

  5. Janet W says:

    Hi my friend, glad to see you back. I missed you. I have been gone a while too. Still not really back. We moved from Utah to Mt Vernon WA. Mom is now in a nursing home. Sis in another and my hubby is recovering from pneumonia and other things in the same home mom’s in..It is crazy here and I am exhausted.
    I love your art. 🙂 How is everyone doing? How is Brian? And that cute little doggie? 🙂
    Take care, Janet W

  6. lil raggedy says:

    A lil snow here …but I’m sooo glad I have nowhere to go…just love seeing all your pretties you are working on…you sure accomplish far more than I…stay warm n HAPPY painting Hugs lil raggedy Angie

Leave a Reply

