Be Ye Kindly Welcome!

COPYRIGHT PROTECTED ORIGINAL ARTWORK>>>DO NOT PIN!!

 

Hello everyone! Our upcoming show, Shaker Woods, is one we work towards all year long. Shaker is held on a farm underneath a canopy of very tall trees. There are acres of free parking spaces for the large crowds that attend. This show is a juried invitational which means you must send in photos ,or take actual pieces of work to the site for the promoters to judge whether you should be granted a space in the show. There are limitations as to how many booths are allowed in each type of craft. This balance is very important so that each vendor has a fair chance at making some good money.  Yesterday, Al took a vanload of product  over to Shaker and stacked everything in our little permanent house in the woods. Today we took a second load over and spent several hours hanging the product. Setting up our booth is somewhat like working a giant jigsaw puzzle because we have so many different sizes of work. Sometimes it all goes together easily, sometimes it doesn’t.  Luckily, today it went smooth as butter!  Smile 

Approaching the oasis of trees where Shaker Woods is held…more campers and trailers now than last week when we were here!

                      100_2263

Notice the back half of our roof is clear plastic to allow light in….the front is cedar shakes. Most of the inside is fully stocked now with most of the lower pieces having 5 or 6 more pieces behind…we sure have a lot of product this time!  YAY!  Al and I make EVERY SINGLE piece ourselves…no imports allowed in MY booth!!  The things in the middle of the floor will go outside of the building when we start the show.  Early Saturday we will set up product on the exterior and our podium.…sure is a lot of work!

                      100_2265

Here you can see the stacks…the tarp on the left will be taken down during the show to allow more light and air flow in.

                      100_2266

Acres of mowed fields for free parking…These fields will be packed full of cars!

                      100_2275

Tree carvings are scattered throughout the show and flowers were planted to brighten the grounds…

                      100_2273

I just finished these in time for the show…the one on the right was sold as I was working on it at my last show…

                      100_2260

Halloween goodies…

                      100_2256

I’ll be working on finishing up last minute details on a few things tonight and tomorrow we’ll pack the van again. I’m especially excited this year because some of our favorite customers, who have become good friends, will be coming up from the D.C. area for the show and to go out to dinner with us.  Adding to that, another good customer/friend emailed and is driving up also with her mother from D.C.!    It will be so nice to see them all.  Smile   I’m hoping to see some Facebook/blogging friends there too.

This is a three weekend show and we will be busy between the weekends replacing a lot of product that is sold.  Right now, I need to get busy staining tags so they are ready to paint tomorrow . So, thanks for visiting , and think about attending one of YOUR local shows…support your favorite artists!  Smile……Jan

10 comments on “Be Ye Kindly Welcome!

  1. Everything looks great Jan!!!! Some year I hope to make it up to see you! It’s so nice you have the shed to protect your hard work and it can stay in place weekend after weekend!!! Hope you have lots of sales!

    • Hi Teresa! I’ll have to post a pic when the building is totally loaded on Saturday…it holds an amazing amount of goods. We just started using the “Square” for charge sales a couple months ago because our old service was getting so expensive and it was slow. We get long lines at Shaker so this should help move the people out quicker. Yes..I love that at the end of each day we just drop the front and go…have great sales at Lititz!!..Jan

  2. Angie Berry says:

    Gosh girl, it looks like LOADS of fun! Sure wish I could make this as I know you told me this would be the show to go to but I won’t be able to this year. I am definitely keeping it in mind for next year though. I love your little cabin, it is lovely and filled with all kinds of wonderful pieces that I would love to have in my home. =]

    • Hi Angie..this show IS fun! Over 200 vendors with the smells of outdoor cooking going on and the sound of bluegrass or country music in the air. There are several food courts and stages for singers. While I hung stuff up, Al worked leveling gravel around our building. The houses are built by the vendors or bought when one leaves..we bought ours from a fudge lady. A friend of ours built a 2 story one! We’re hoping to get time to totally repaint ours next year…wish you were coming!!…hugs, Jan

  3. Cindy says:

    Hi Jan,
    Hope it is another great year for you at this show. Sure wish that it wasn’t 3 hours away from where I live….I would love to come shop at this show and to see your work in person. I’ve been working on some things for my Fall show that is in 6 weeks. Thought I had better get busy, because it will be here before I know it.
    hugs,
    Cindy

    • Hi Cindy! Shaker is a very consistent show…Our best year was our first but last year was very close. We’re hoping that because we are in the Shaker paper and have lots more product, that we will beat our first year. We’ll see! You are so right…this year is flying by..I feel like I missed a couple months somewhere!! :)….hugs, Jan

  4. Christine says:

    Hello again, Jan! So glad you are in top form again and so excited about this event.
    You have a fab booth set up must be hard work but it will be so much fun!
    Best wishes
    Christine

  5. Lecia says:

    Hi Jan, Your work is stunning, you are blessed with such awesome talent.
    Would love to attend this show. Hugs, Lecia

  6. steph says:

    I remember the pictures of the Shaker Woods from you last year’s show and just loving it all:) I was so happy to hear you had a permanent place there for your show. How fun. I know this is going to sound crazy, but I love the smell of wood and paint together!! I must be nuts, but I go around smelling things like crafts, and wood, and books, etc. Have since I was little. Ha ha. I am glad your break from blogging wasn’t too long. -Steph-

  7. Karen says:

    Hi Jan,
    I remember you posting about this show last year…what a lovely setting.
    I can’t believe it’s 3 weekends…I’ve not heard of one with that many show dates.
    Your products are so beautiful – such a talented lady.
    Always fun having returning customers and friends visit.
    Blessings,
    Karen

Leave a Reply

