just humming along…

Hello everyone!  Well, I’m finally back!   As many of you know, I took a break from my blog as well as Facebook because I really needed to get over a hurtful situation. I’ll never understand how someone I have known for over 20 years, never even had an argument with  , could think that constant criticism and snarky comments wouldn’t destroy the friendship.  I have enough on my plate to deal with and don’t need anyone tearing me down .  So, after much talking to my hubby, and burying myself in my work, I’m moving on. I know I am blessed.  I have a husband that loves me and respects my ideas and opinions but never tries to control me (as if he could! Winking smile ).  We have two sons that love us , keep in close contact with us, and would be here in a moments notice if we needed them to be. We have a crazy, growing business that constantly surprises us , and many happy customers that have become good friends. I’m finding myself smiling much more lately especially because of good friends offering cyber hugs and comforting emails. Thank you all.  I actually caught myself humming along to the radio in the car the other day..a true sign that I am happy.  We all need to gather around us those people that are caring and kind, and discard those that hurt and make us feel not good enough.  And so……

 

I’m starting fresh!  Smile  Since I last posted, we have had two shows.  Mid July we were back in Boalsburg for People’s Choice…how I love that show!!   It was stinking hot, but the customers still came.  On the way towards State College the hills were beautifully hazy from the humidity…

                                100_2232

The landscaping displays are always right in front of our booth…..

                                100_2219

I love perennials and have been working the past month on redoing my own perennial flower beds.  When they are complete I’ll post pics…

                                100_2224

                                100_2222

The little choo choo was busy all four days…

                                100_2230

Just a small portion of this large show…

                                100_2217

I had to laugh…this Amish family spent so much time looking over the ATM machine they bring in for this show…hmmmm…wonder what they were thinking????

                                100_2228

They then moved on to one of the entertainment tents…and seemed entranced by the belly dancers!  Haha!  We are very fortunate that our neighbors all around us at this show are so nice and we part with hugs all around. It makes for a happy show.

                                100_2229

After People’s Choice we did a smaller , but very good show across the line into New York.  We have established a schedule of very consistent shows.  Of course, Shaker Woods is the one we work towards all year.  Today we went to the grounds to work on our building. Al replaced the roof on the little side shed on our building and patched a large hole in the roof last week . The roof on the back of our building is clear plastic and a branch had fallen from a tree and punched a hole.  Today we swept the building inside and out, sprayed for spiders, and installed our green louvered doors for displaying product.  Here are some random shots of the woods…each time we go it is a bit noisier as vendors arrive to fill their booths.

                                100_2237

                                100_2238

                                100_2240

                                100_2245

And finally, our booth. Some product is in there, two more vanloads to come!

                                100_2248

This year we were asked to submit pics and a resume to be featured in the Shaker Woods newspaper. We were so excited to be chosen!

I still have product to finish, but we just received 6 originals back from the publisher which will be released soon…that will help fill the walls.  Our little neighborhood at this show is very close and friendly which makes for a fun show.

We are all well here, and Brian is doing pretty well right now. He had a problem while we were at a show but the doctor’s office helped him through it. 

 

I hope you are all well, thank you for visiting, and remember to keep smiling!  Smile

7 comments on “just humming along…

  1. Trace says:

    Welcome back friend.
    I had to do the same thing a few months ago..sadly with family. Hardest decision ever.
    You’ve been in my thoughts and prayers,
    Giant hugs
    Have a great show.

  2. marly says:

    Sometimes a person’s own troubles are reflected in their behavior and can’t be happy for others since they are not. Whatever the reason, you made a decision to take care of yourself. Good! Congratulations on the Shaker feature – I enjoyed the article. I haven’t been there in years. Have fun!

  3. Cindy says:

    So glad you are back…missed you. I had something similar happen to me many years ago. It was a hard thing to go thru…but I knew it was the right thing to do when I let my friend go out of my life. A true friend should never treat you like that. Happy to hear that your shows are going good. My Fall show is at the end of September…thinking I had better get busy and make a few things.
    hugs,
    Cindy

  4. Karen says:

    Hi Jan and so happy you are back and ‘happy’.
    We do not need so much negativity in our lives from someone else…we can make enough of it for ourselves.
    Glad you made the decision to let this person free from your life. Bless you.
    You sound good!
    Family is everything isn’t it…and our friends here. How very blessed are all of us with these friends.
    Thanks for sharing this gorgeous setting and show.
    Karen

  5. bettycrowe says:

    So happy to see you back and to hear you have been singing! My friend Carol had this discussion over lunch at her house on Wed, this week. Sometimes you just have to let go of a friend, who truly isn’t. That is hard as well as sad. But move on. Real friends cheer you on, comfort you, want to see you do well, and love you when you aren’t lovable. You just lost an acquaintance, not a friend. glad the business is doing so well. when things prosper we are in Gods will. Can’t go wrong in that.

  6. Mary Johnston says:

    Hi Jan,
    so thankful you are back, and leaving hurtful people behind. “All’s well that ends well!” I missed your posting! I am enjoying my paintings and retirement. So happy for you to have this very special Shaker Woods show coming up, to share you work which is amazing to me! Such a blessing to have a great supportive husband and you boys to be well.
    MaryJ

  7. Angie Berry says:

    You better add your blogging friends in that list of what you’re thankful for!!! Lol, I sure love you girl. I’m glad you’re back, glad your shows have been great, very glad that Brian is doing well.

    I noticed that you have been pinning lots of perennials on Pinterest. =] Can’t wait to see pics of yours! The Amish story made me smile. You really wonder what they must be thinking. Shaker Woods looks like lots of fun, I remember it from your posts last year. I would LOVE to come but not possible this year, maybe next year.

    Sorry for the betrayal of your long-time friend, I know that must have been so hard for you. I have somewhat been dealing with a similar situation only we haven’t been friends that long, only a few years but it’s still so weird, so frustrating, and I can’t understand it. Glad YOU are back~

Leave a Reply

