Antique store tour, part 2….yeah…I’m late…

Hello everyone…yeah, I really hoped to get this posted before today, but you know how it goes!   I’ve been very busy getting product ready for my next show. It’s the first big one of the year and we need a LOT of product. I also had the 6 custom pieces to finish before getting on product for inventory. Yesterday I finished the last of the painting and stained the last of it last night. Now I have to finish all the clearcoating , put hangers on, tag, and pack. We are getting into humid weather which poses a problem for clearcoating. The weather needs to be fairly dry or the clearcoat can get hazy…not a good look for folk art.  So, this morning I got an early start and got much of it done even as I felt it getting more and more humid. I’ll be up early tomorrow too , to coat the stuff I stained last night, if it is dry. I use an oil stain that gives a richer finish, but it can take 2 or 3 days to dry. To hurry it up, I stained, let it dry for a couple of hours, then carried it into the house—it will dry a bit faster inside.

Soooo…ready for the rest of the tour?  Here we go…remember to click to enlarge…lots of eye candy in these!

                                              100_2067

love this table and horse…

                                              100_2068

sigh…butterchurn…

                                              100_2069

                                              100_2070

Stephanie…this pic is for you…

                                             

                                              100_2071

                                              100_2072

                                              100_2073

                                              100_2074

                                              100_2075

I’m on a mission for more firkins…

                                              100_2076

I’m crazy over gameboards…

                                              100_2077

                                              100_2078

                                              100_2079

Now THIS is what I’m talkin’ about!!

                                              100_2080

                                              100_2081

                                              100_2082

and a final, gorgeous sampler…

                                              100_2083

Remember these?  Custom for a customer…she has a LOT of our pieces and by this time, I know what she’s looking for, so I try to have some special pieces when I know she is coming to a show.  I am always thrilled at the difference the stain makes…tones down colors, softens the look, and ages it.  I have to work fast putting the stain on and then wiping it off so not too much is absorbed into the paint.  It’s so funny…I have music playing while I stain, and the faster the music, the faster I rub off the stain!  LOL!   

Before…

                                              100_2092

and after…

                                              100_2110

Last night we had our own tornado scare, but fortunately the storms moved north of us . A tornado did touch down in a little town we used to do a show in…one fatality…a motorcycle rider. Sad smile  Some of our blogging friends were at risk too, but thankfully everyone is OK.

Thank you for visiting..and welcome to my new followers. I need to get back to work now…never enough time anymore,it seems!  We picked up a new show that will bring many of our blog and Facebook friends together!  What fun!   Have a great day!—blessings, Jan

8 comments on “Antique store tour, part 2….yeah…I’m late…

  1. marly says:

    Hi Jan. What a store! All this in one place? I wish it was here but then again probably too pricey for me. The greenhouse we went to is Mast’s. The address is 155 MaFarland Lane Mercer. You follow 318 to Orchard Road where you will see two signs – one for Byler’s Greenhouse and the other for Mast’s. Turn right at the signs (Orchard) and follow it 1.5 miles, continue following signs and turn left onto a lane, then another left. Fabulous setting, fabulous house, wonderful people. Their baskets are massive and $18. Some perennials and annuals but not lots left. All the remaining baskets are varieties of petunias. 10 am to 7:30 Mon-Sat. We stopped at Byler’s too on the way back – same road – and I got sweet potato vines for $2. Sorry to post this in comments but you’re no-reply! Stay cool!

  2. Cindi Loretz says:

    Hi Jan, oh goodness hard to believe there is so much beauty in one store! Thanks for taking the time to take pictures and show them to us! I love those two pictures you created, of course! The stain really does make a difference! Have a great rest of the week and good luck on your show!
    Be blessed,
    Cindi

  3. Karen says:

    Hi Jan…always eye candy here (because you show us your beautiful creations too!).
    Firkins are the big collector item aren’t they??? I love all the different colors they come in.
    Going to be hot and humid here today – and for a few more days.
    Blessings,
    Karen

  4. Eye candy for sure……….sigh…..love the cabinet w the punched tin on doors…….DROOL!!! O love me some firkins too!!!! Can never have enough.Love the new pieces for a customer. Awesome work as always……good luck at the show!

  5. Cindy says:

    Great shop! I see some horses that I like. Glad that the storms moved north of you. I watching TV right now where there are more tornados out in Oklahoma City and St Louis.

  6. Trace says:

    What awesome eye candy.
    Thanks for taking us along.
    Love your beautiful work.
    Woolie Blessings

  7. steph says:

    That is some awesome antique store. That dealer has an eye for things!!! If there was a place like that near my home, I just might quite my stay at home job and work there for free!!! Thanks for sharing with all of us. I never get to see places like that. Sounds like your busy busy. Hope you get some time to visit with your children and do something fun soon:) Have a great weekend. -Steph-

Leave a Reply

