Home from the art festival!

Hello everyone!  Welcome to Buttermilk Hill…and welcome to my new followers.  I appreciate you all! 

Last Friday we left for another show…this one near Columbus Ohio called the Delaware Arts Festival.  (Delaware Ohio). This is a street show and pretty good for us, in fact we were up from last year in sales.  The only thing that I don’t like is setting up our booth in the morning before the show starts…it is stressful trying to get it up in time. Saturday morning we were there at 6 AM—our booth takes a little more than 3 hours to set up—to find a parking spot near the booth site. After unloading, it went smoothly and we were ready by the time the show started.  I thought you might like to see some of our neighboring booths and what they sell….this show is strict about no imports or low end crafts…first…Shaker boxes…

                                                         100_2047

Handblown glass…I have quite a collection of these for my big tree at Christmas…

                                                         100_2048

paintings…

                                                         100_2049

photography and jewelry …oops! I see my hubby!!  Winking smile

                                                         100_2050

pottery…

                                                         100_2051

copper work…

                                                         100_2052

Couldn’t resist snapping a pic of this GORGEOUS bee sting butter churn in an antique store’s window!  sigh….. $185…too rich for this girl…but one can dream…

                                                         100_2053

A better shot of paintings…

                                                         100_2054

Our next door neighbors on one side had polymer clay tiny fairies, tiny lettuce heads with babies tucked inside, lily of the valley earrings , and tiny peapods with tiny baby peas inside …each one a grandchild.  Many, many pieces so delicate and perfect. Our other neighbor, across the aisle, had framed photography.   We were lucky that we were up in sales…I really didn’t expect it because it drizzled much of Saturday…rain can make a show miserable.  We were fully set up and watertight before the rain started. We really fly when there is rain threatening!  Whew!!  Smile  I painted at this show…a stack of very small paintings…and was very surprised that the paint dried well despite the rain…Sunday they called for more rain, but we never got it…and my paint dried almost TOO quickly!

One of the best parts of the weekend was when blogger/FB friend Carmen (Primcats) came for a visit! YAY!   She is such a sweetie and even though her pup Holly was tired from a busy day at Springfield Antique market the day before,  she brought Holly to meet us. OMG! Holly is the most adorable and sweet tempered tiny baby ever!   Carmen kept a close eye on me because I would have run off with that baby if given half a chance!  Thank you so much ,Carmen, for taking the time to come see us…always a treat!  Speaking of treats…Carmen had a few tucked into her cart for me….I will post pics in my next posting.  Let’s just say..our van smelled delicious all the way home!

 

I have a treat for everyone who reads my blog…the owner of a WONDERFUL antique shop in Delaware very kindly allowed me to take photos throughout his shop.  This shop is amazing with drop dead gorgeous antique primitives.  I have never seen so many blanket chests in one place..and the samplers…OMG!!   I am hoping to post at least some of the pics tomorrow…you WILL want to see them!

Thank you so much for visiting my blog…things are about to get busy around here  as my show season swings into high gear..please keep the families in Oklahoma in your thoughts as they mourn and try to rebuild their lives.  …blessings, Jan

9 comments on “Home from the art festival!

  1. Sheila says:

    Looked like some pretty awesome vendors among you. How cool is that, that you got to meet Carmen in person! One of these days………….hoping to meet up with some of you too!
    Can’t wait to see the other photos 😉
    Have a good day.
    hugs,
    Sheila

  2. Carmen says:

    Always great to see you Jan! and NO. You can’t steal my doggie. 😉

  3. This looks like a wonderful show Jan!!! So glad to hear sales were up for you! Looking forward to seeing the antique shop photos too!

  4. Pat Jarrett says:

    Hi Jan….Do you have a list of the shows you do and where they are? Who knows if it is not too far from me in South Central VA, maybe I will come and say Hi too!

  5. marly says:

    Looks like everyone’s booth but yours! Anxious to see your next batch of photos.

  6. Cindy says:

    Hi Jan,
    So glad that you did good at the show and that your sales were up. It looks like it was a good show. I’ve seen the lady’s booth that makes the polymer clay tiny fairies. She does a show that is 15 minutes away from where I live and I’m thinking about applying for the Fall Show. Hubby and I are going to go on June 8th to check out their Spring show.
    Can’t wait to see the photos of the antique shop.
    hugs,
    Cindy

  7. Karen says:

    Hi Jan,
    You are the most busy ‘travl’n’ lady in blogland! lol You do a lot of shows! I think I would have wanted to steal Holly too – such a cute puppy! Glad you got to meet Carmen – I met her a few years ago too.
    Karen

  8. steph says:

    Sounds like a great show. It’s always a bonus to do better than the year before. I think it’s fun when the artist is there painting in their booth. It’s neat to watch. How fun that Carmen came to see you. What a neat thing. I can’t wait to see the goodies she brought you. The Bee Sting butter churn is to die for. I would be happy just to have a small bee sting crock with a crack in it. Ha ha. Thanks for showing us around the other booths. We need some good craft shows around here. -Steph-

  9. Cindi Loretz says:

    What a neat show…I think I am going to plan a trip next summer to go to a different area of the country so I can catch some of these craft shows…we really don’t have many around here. I would love to find you at one! 🙂 So neat that you got to see Carmen and Holly!
    Thanks for sharing,
    Be blessed,
    Cindi

Leave a Reply

