Another one under our belt!

Good morning everyone!  Well, I really must get back to work today…Monday I didn’t touch a paint brush, and yesterday I spent prepping a big stack of wood pieces that have been calling my name. Friday we shuffled off to Buffalo, New York for a three day show. Because our last show was down because of TERRIBLE weather, we were a bit nervous for this one.  This time we were up a good bit over this show last year. Very few shows in the Spring are great, and even this one isn’t, but we are grateful it was up!  We heard many vendors didn’t cover expenses.  This show used to be MUCH better, but the promoters moved it to much earlier in the year and I think that is why.

Anyway…it is a beautiful show with some amazing work.  We had some wonderful neighbors at the show and enjoyed talking to them.  It’s so nice when everyone is friendly around you at a show.This is the work of our neighbor beside us…and I have to apologize…I can’t find their card. Sad smile  I know I have it, but just can’t locate it.  I will post an update when that little bugger is found.  I promise !!

UPDATE!!!   I found the card!   If you are interested in one of these beautiful furniture pieces, or want to see them in person at a show, you can contact the artist at uniqueinitself@gmail.com.  His name is Dean Smith.

100_1968

Love this one…that is NOT a salvaged window on the front…it is a constructed window made by the artist. amazing.

100_1969

100_1970

Love this one…

100_1975

100_1971

100_1972

100_1974

I can’t tell you how many people stopped to check out this piece…

100_1973

A few random shots of the show…………….I took these at the very end of the day when most of the shoppers were gone.

100_1977

100_1976

Some new goods I painted for the show…really needed this size…..

100_1957

Love the small crowns…the top one was sold…

100_1958

A shot of my booth……

100_1963

On Saturday, the promoter holds a catered dinner for the vendors.  I really just wanted to go back to the hotel, but we did go to the dinner …and I’m glad we did.  We had so much fun with our friends!  We were surprised that new vendors at the show included friends from a town near us—we knew them from a local show.  Our table was probably the loudest there with all the laughing!  What a great time.

Brian is STILL waiting for his car to come back to him…hopefully it will be soon.  Springtime is finally here—it’s going to be in the upper 70’s today and tomorrow, then drop down again to the 40’s. The windows are open, and the air smells wonderful.

OK…I’d better get going…I have to do a couple more applications for shows today…and get to work!!   Thanks for visiting!!   —–Jan

8 comments on “Another one under our belt!

  1. lbarbadora says:

    Wow some wonderful pieces of furniture Jan! I’m glad the show was better for you…..so much hard WORK and $$$ go into one. Glad you made some new friends and shared laughs with some old ones!
    Hugs! Lynn

  2. steph says:

    Hi Jan, I am glad you had a spring show to go to and some fun with friends. I bet you meet a lot of really neat people in all your travels. Boy, I would love a house full of custome build furniture and things. They are soooo pretty. 70 sounds very warm. I had to soak in the hot shower forever this morning because I was so cold. It snowed this week already, but today looks promising. Middle is getting baptized this Saturday and I am all a mess trying to get the house in order, and the meeting in order, and the dinner planned. It is such an exciting time and we have lots of family coming in to town. We are very proud of her decision. I hope that Brian gets his car very soon. I know what it’s like not to have one. Have a great day. -Steph-

  3. Cindy says:

    Hi Jan…so glad to hear that this Spring Show was better for you. I gave up Spring shows several years ago, because I never did good at them. I just do Fall and Christmas shows now.
    It is really pretty here right now. We had a storm earlier today and they are calling for more thunderstorms thru tonight.
    Well…I hear my embroidering machine calling me. Got an order to finish up while it is not storming.
    hugs,
    Cindy

  4. Sheila says:

    I always enjoy the photos you share of the shows that you are at. Only wish we had some around this area worth going to. Love, love the furniture pieces. I think I see a project in the works for
    Mr. B! 😛 Sounds like you had a great time with everyone and happy for you that sales were up too.
    Enjoy your wonderful weather………..we’ve got cold temps, snow and rain again!
    hugs~

  5. marly says:

    Beautiful work once again. And the cabinets are so nicely constructed!

  6. I have my first fair/show ever in May. Nervous!

  7. Glad to hear the show was better for you this year!!! Everything looks so nice Jan!!!

  8. bettycrowe says:

    Glad you had a good show. I love your signs. I want one. I will have to get with you and decide. I am in no hurry. Would like it for my back porch if here. If I move would have to rethink it. Wish Brian’s car would get back to him. He doesn’t need added stress.

Leave a Reply

