Chocolate Heaven!!!

Hello everyone!   First I would like to welcome my new followers.  It is a bit hard with word press to know who is following, but I would love to get to know my followers better. I read every comment and appreciate them all.

Today I want to share a store I LOVE to walk into…mainly because of the smell that wraps itself around you. This is Daffin’s..billed as the world’s largest candy store. They are famous for their chocolates…and their Chocolate Kingdom.  It is a huge store, and actually has expanded again since I was last there.  The first pic is of the very long row of chocolates in glass cases…yum…Croquettes and French Mints always call to me!  Milk chocolates, dark chocolates, hundreds of variations of creams, nuts, a huge assortment of barks, and novelties were tempting the crowd of shoppers.  I noticed Al was hovering in front of the turtles. Winking smile    (his favorite)…..my favorite is all of the above.  Sigh……..Then there were the rows upon rows of large, shelved display tables loaded with chocolate rabbits, cars, lambs, computers, ducks, and many more figures in many sizes….. I tried to talk Al into a few 5# rabbits, but he said no. …Sad smile

                                     100_1940

This is the original mold created by the founder for his first chocolate rabbits…I’m sure it is a treasured heirloom for the family.

                                     100_1939

Ahhh!!  Entering the Chocolate Kingdom!   These are all solid chocolate creations…..castle and a rhino peeking out from behind the castle…

                                     100_1934

                                     100_1935

The turtle is HUGE!!  It weighs several hundred pounds and is solid chocolate….

                                     100_1936

Chocolate elephants and deer….

                                     100_1937

                                     100_1938

This frog was about two feet tall..again solid chocolate.  These figures are kept year round for visitors to the candy store and school children day trips.  When our boys were little, we used to take them for swizzle stick day where you got a sample of Easter egg filling dipped into liquid chocolate.   YUM!

                                    

Daffin’s also has an extensive gift shop and an amazing wall of hundreds of flavors of sugar free candies.  I hope you enjoyed this tour…I just wish my blog had “smeller” capabilities!   The thick chocolate smell was delicious!!   ……………….I think I gained 5# just smelling it! Winking smile

Have a great day!—Jan

5 comments on “Chocolate Heaven!!!

  1. Christine says:

    Hi Jan! I think I would never leave that store!!! It’s amazing and wonderful and I’ve been drooling so badly!!!
    Hope you are getting on well with the start of the show season!
    Best wishes
    Christine

  2. simplethymeprims says:

    Jan , thank you, now I want chocolate!…nothing better!..enjoyed your post!

  3. Cindy says:

    Now I ‘m hungry for some chocolate!!

  4. Oh my what a dangerous place to be……..I think I gained 5 lbs reading this!

  5. Karen says:

    Oh my,
    Heavens delight…lol
    Fun place to be and buy.
    Karen

Leave a Reply

