Some exciting news!

Copyrighted artwork—DO NOT PIN

 

Hi everyone!  Brrrr!  It’s still pretty cold in our neck of the woods, but the outlook is for a warming up…at least for a few days!  Spring is on the way-I know because my daffodils and crocus are trying as hard as they can to pop up.  It’s always hard to work when it is frigid, but Al has still managed to get way ahead of me …there are stacks of readied wood waiting and we are about to go after another load of wood.

I am getting some skates completed….like this one….it is a child double runner that is now in it’s new home in Virginia….usually I fill them, but this lady wanted it to hang on an old sled…

                                                             100_1892

                                                             100_1893

A few days ago we stocked the store we sell in with signs….after our last show of the year, we take every sign we have left to the store. In the Spring we start all over…a very daunting task because we need everything. It’s a lot of work, but I like to keep my product fresh at shows. If you constantly pack and unpack product, you always end up scratching them.Sad smile

We were very surprised to see one of my paintings posted on Facebook by Kristine of A Primitive Place magazine.  The publisher of Country Register of Maine used one of my published paintings for the Jan./ Feb. cover. How exciting!  Gail, the publisher, was so kind to mail me a copy….how nice was that!?!  She wrote and thanked me for the use of the art and said her Facebook page exploded after it was posted. Smile  Thank you so much ,Kristine and Gail!

                                                              100_1895

Our folk art seems to be spreading…we just found it is being sold in a store in South Africa …I love that the prints are selling in more and more stores, but my goal is really to have the work licensed and applied to products like calendars. Last week the publisher emailed us…first asking how Brian is doing (we appreciate that! )  then asking if we would like to design a line of greeting cards for them.  Woo Hoo!!    YES!   They want  prim/country Christmas cards, Autumn, Halloween, and everyday.  So, I’m trying to hurry and get everything done for our first show so I can finish a group suitable for cards…they want some by the end of the month. Yikes! 

Otherwise, everything is somewhat quiet here.  The saws are all working  (knock on wood)   and we were lucky enough to avoid the terrible flu that was going around.  I hope you are all well and safe …especially if you are located in an area where the weather has been especially brutal.  Have a wonderful week!………..Jan

14 comments on “Some exciting news!

  1. Very exciting news!!!! Congratulations!!!

  2. How wonderful for you !! You work so hard and such talent…You deserve this awesome news !!
    I can’t wait to see ( and buy) your sweet cards !!!
    Robin

  3. Christine says:

    This is terrific, Jan! I’d love to buy some of your artwork!
    Keep up the good work!
    Christine

  4. Janet W says:

    Gosh Jan that is all so cool. I am excited for you. 🙂 I hope all continues to go well.

    How is Brian and everyone doing? We are hangin in there. Thank you for your comments and prayers.

    I am a the library so my time is limited. 😦

    Miss you. Take care, Janet W

  5. bettycrowe says:

    Oh Jan, I can say I knew you when. WOW I am so happy for you all.

  6. marly says:

    Congratulations! Again! My goodness you are going to be busy. Let us know when and where the cards will be. I haven’t seen a Country Register for a long time but it sure looks good with your work on the cover.

  7. steph says:

    Oh, Jan:) How exciting!!! I am so proud of you. I think it would be so fun to create cards like that. I can’t wait to get my hands on some. I can’t beleive that spring is so close for you. How refreshing. We are month away still, at least. It was nice of your publisher to remember Brian first off. I then got ashamed of myself because I haven’t been so diligent in inquiring. I am sorry:(
    I do hope he is well. The skate is beautiful. That blue is just so pretty. How are things going with the copyright issues? Are you still sad? I am just loving all the prints you sent to me. Thanks again so much. -Steph-

  8. Angie Berry says:

    YAY, so awesome Jan!!! How cool that the publisher asked about Brian, I think that says a lot about their company. I can’t wait for those cards to come out! I’m telling you, there are no prim cards to be bought around here so I always look everywhere I go in other states.

    Funny that you will be warming up there… we are finally supposed to get our first snow tomorrow night, hope so! The skates are awesome! Love the homespun for ties and such a pretty blue color. They will look great hanging on an old sled.

    Congratulations girl! Very excited for the direction your folk art is heading!!!

  9. Cindy says:

    What exciting news!! Congrats on the greeting card line!!
    ~Cindy

  10. Karen says:

    HAPPY VALENTINE’S JAN!!!
    What a wonderful painting on the skates…I would sure love to see them on the ladies sled.

    Congratulations on having your painting on the book – it looks awesome. How wonderful for you and your husband for all the hard work that goes into everything you do.

    OMGOSH JAN….I think this is the most exciting news for you…getting your products licensed…it goes so far after that you just can’t imagine.
    Dan DiPaolo has all of his designs on calendars, note pads, plates, cups….it runs the gambit and you will be there too!!!!…I’m so happy for you.

    Blessings,
    Karen

  11. Mary Johnston says:

    HI Jan,
    thanks for the update. glad everything is moving along for you in spite of the saw breakdown. but great news about the card line! Hope they will make it to my part of the country. And best of all you got to see your son. I know how important that is!

    And don’t forget I am waiting on that wonderful piece for myself.
    Mary

  12. margie says:

    I’m the lucky lady in Virginia who got the “Child Skate” I just love it and its beautiful,the grandkids know they can look but not touch.:)

Leave a Reply

