A Happy, Hoppy, little make over!

Copyright protected artwork………2013……..Do not pin

 

Hi everyone!  First…welcome to my new followers. On word press, it can be difficult figuring out who is following….but I do want you to know I do appreciate you!  Of course, I want my long time followers to know I also appreciate you very much too, and LOVE to hear from you.  I’m still learning about this blogging thing and readily admit I’m not the best at computer stuff.  (I can actually hear my boys nodding right now, agreeing with that!)

I also want to point out that I have just started putting the note above on my blog because there seems to be a certain person that thinks they have the same rights to my artwork as I do. SO not true. This artwork is our sole income  and is protected by copyright…I have dealt with this problem before…and won……BIG!   Now I also have my publisher’s legal department behind me .  Soooo, please feel free to pin recipes and home pics without my artwork…do not pin my artwork.  This truly is directed towards a very few people who are probably not even in our blogging community.

Sorry, but that really needed to be said.

Now, as to the make over…years ago, I started doing very small shows locally.   After several years, we wanted to broaden our horizons so we started doing some larger hotel shows in Pittsburgh.  They were very nice, one day Sunday shows, with some very nice quality vendors. After a new promoter started up some huge shows in the area, the hotel shows died off. Sad smile  Sadly, the big show promoter has now filled his shows with imports….I refuse to do junk shows like that. One of the vendors at the hotel shows made dolls…very nicely made dolls….and sold TONS of them. This was the one I bought. Very pretty, but not very prim for nowadays.  In fact, I had her put away in a box destined for Goodwill.

                                                         100_1866   

A week or so  ago, I pulled her out, and decided to try and prim her up to fit into my growing prim décor.  I pulled off her dress, the burlap sack and bunch of carrots, and the bow on her head. I’d love to know what kind of glue that crafter used, because after 20 years it was still holding on like a bear!  Because her face was painted on, I needle sculpted a new face, then  painted her body entirely with a brown paint. I let her dry overnight, then sanded her, especially on the seams,face, and ears.

                                                         100_1884 

I then painted her again with an instant coffee,vanilla, and water mixture. A slightly warm oven dried her quickly (always keep an eye on the oven drying…we don’t want a fire here! ). At the same time, I dipped her dress and the carrot bunch in the coffee mix. I lay all the pieces on sheets of foil to dry. Needing a new apron for her, I cut an 8 inch edge off an old embroidered pillowcase from a flea market and also coffee dyed it.     

                                                         100_1885  

And here she is…..a little more prim….and a little better fit for my home. Very easy to do…so don’t pass up those cutesy dolls you see ….you can turn them into prim babies!

                                                         100_1887 

At flea markets, when I’m out looking for antiques to paint, I see dolls all the time. So you don’t really need to know how to sew…just do a make over!

Have a wonderful day, and thanks so much for visiting!  Smile   —-Jan      

6 comments on “A Happy, Hoppy, little make over!

  1. Sheila says:

    I have a few like that that I’ve been thinking of doing the same to. Hmmm, Missy, you just sparked a new project on the to do list!
    Chances are the “pinners” of your work don’t value “respect” for one another……..seems that’s the way of society in general!
    TFS,
    Sheila

  2. Christine says:

    GREAT JOB! You primmed up that bunny so nicely!
    Now I see her, I need to get working on some spring critters soon!
    Have a great week!
    Christine

  3. marly says:

    Nice work! You see a primitive doll. I see chocolate rabbit!!! Just can’t shake that addiction.

  4. steph says:

    Oh yes, she is even more lovely now!!! Perfect and prim. What a good makeover. You can do just about anything with coffee, tea, cinnamon, and an oven. Poor family wonders if I am actually cooking food or just fabric. Sorry about the picture stealers:( -Steph-

  5. Cindy says:

    Great makeover!!
    It sure has been sad to see some of the great shows that I used to do for years disappear…and now be replaced by these import type shows. Our area used to have some awesome handmade shows, but now days…it is getting harder and harder to find a good show to do around here.
    hugs,
    Cindy

  6. Angie Berry says:

    Sorry to hear about your “pin” issue… there are always some out there that have no heart, it’s actually quite sad.

    I’m loving your prim bunny makeover! Girl, it looks great!! I wish I had held on to a few of mine from the past years.

Leave a Reply

